European Commission: Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2023

Data apertura
09 Mar 2023
Data chiusura
28 Apr 2023
€ 30 000


Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2023.


The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize has been run by the European Commission’s Directorate-General for International Partnerships (DG INTPA) since 1992.

The Prize is awarded to journalists in recognition of their reporting work on international issues, notably stories that shine a light on the most pressing global challenges.

The Prize commemorates the former Vice-President of the European Commission, Lorenzo Natali, who contributed significantly to the promotion and furthering of European development policies. 

Themes and categories

The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize recognises and rewards the endeavour of journalists who contribute through their investigative work to issues relating to:

  • inequality,
  • poverty eradication,
  • sustainable development,
  • environment, biodiversity, climate action,
  • digital (gap, connectivity, e-governance, entrepreneurship),
  • jobs and employment,
  • education and skills development,
  • migration,
  • healthcare (access, assistance),
  • peace, democracy and human rights.

Applicants must choose one of the three following categories when filling in the online form. The Prize is open to journalists in the following three categories:

  • International Prize: reporting published by a media outlet based in one of the European Union’s international partnership and neighbourhood countries.
  • Europe Prize: reporting published by a media outlet based in the European Union.
  • Best Emerging Journalist Prize: reporting by a journalists aged under 30 at the time of publication and published by a media outlet based in any of the countries eligible for the International and Europe Prizes.



Submissions can be submitted in the following formats:

  • written
  • audio-visual
  • multimedia (such as photo-reportages, interactive articles with charts, infographics).

Publication period

Entries must have been published or broadcast between 10 March 2022 and 9 March 2023. 

Language requirements

The Prize admits submissions in all languages accompanied by a translation in one of these languages: English, French, Spanish, German or Portuguese when these are not the original languages of the reporting. Entries in languages other than English, French, Spanish, German or Portuguese will only be evaluated on the basis of the translated texts.


For text-based entries, the length limit is 2,300 words. Video and audio entries can be up to 30 minutes long.

Geographic eligibility

The location of the media outlet where the reporting was published determines the geographic eligibility of your application. The outlet’s office must be based in an eligible country. For example, reporting published in Reuters India is eligible, while reporting published in Reuters USA even if about India is not. 


Submitted reporting can have one or several authors. The participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work.

Previous winners

2022 winners cannot compete again for the 2023 Prize but are eligible for subsequent editions.


Categories will not be awarded if quality is not met. Each winner will receive 10,000€. The winner of the Best Emerging Journalist category will also be offered a work experience opportunity with a media partner.

The winners will be invited to participate in a ceremony in Brussels, the date of which will be made public in due course.


Apply via our online form between 9 March and 28 April 2023 23:59 CET.

The entries will go through a pre-selection phase carried out by four journalism schools. The top pre-selected entries will then be judged by an independent Grand Jury, composed of experts from around the world. The decision of the Grand Jury shall be final and irrevocable.

Updates and Link

European Commission

Rules for Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2023

10 Mar 2023

Beneficiari e Finalitá

Stato agevolazioni
Ubicazione Investimento

Incentivi e Spese

Tipologia agevolazione
Lorenzo natali, Lorenzo natali media prize